Keeping In Touch

This week’s GameOverGreggy show featured one of Colin’s best friends, Ramon, as the special guest. Colin and Ramon met in college, which for them was over 10 years ago, and though they live in different cities and have different careers, they have managed to keep in touch. For Ramon’s topic, he decided to ask the guys their opinions on keeping in touch—have they found it harder as they’ve gotten older, or has technology made it easier to keep in touch.

This topic resonates with me, and I’ve actually thought about it quite a bit these last few years. Personally, I’ve found that getting older has made it difficult to keep in touch with people. It seems that every year, my life is changing, my priorities are changing, and I just don’t have the time to keep up with everyone, even though I would like to. And that sucks, because there have been people in my life that I wanted to keep in touch with, but life pulls us in different directions and it gets tough.

It’s also hard receiving a message from someone you used to be close with and they want to reconnect, but life and time seem to make that impossible.

I was very interested in something Nick said about the role social media has played in our ability to keep in touch with people. He said that social media has kind of become a veil to keep people at bay rather than be in touch, because we aren’t actually keeping in touch with people anymore, but we still know what’s going on with them. We no longer have to phone someone up and chat for an hour, or make plans to get dinner. Instead, we’re able to drop a quick message on Facebook, or simply check out their profiles for updates and pictures of their current lives.

Nick also talked about life before social media, where you would graduate high school or college, and would leave behind most of those people for good, save for (perhaps) your close friends. But now, you can pull up all those people at the push of a button and see what they are up to because of social media.

I actually think that’s a great thing about social media. Sure, it may just be the illusion that you’re keeping in touch with someone simply by having them on your friends list. But social media does make it easier to reach out to people if you so desire. And messaging back and forth can be just as valuable as a telephone call. I have some friends that I only keep in touch with thanks to social media, but we are able to get together a couple times every year, and we message back and forth online. I’m very happy with those relationships, and I wouldn’t be able to keep up with them if it weren’t for social media.

I am coming to terms with how difficult it is to keep in touch—it actually feels like the natural order of things. Life gets in the way, and we just don’t have the time to keep in touch with everyone. I am grateful that I’ve been able to keep up relationships with my closest friends, but I know that the fact we all still live in Winnipeg helps. I’ve wondered what would happen to our friendships if some of us moved away. Though, like Colin and Ramon, I think these friendships would last, despite distance and life’s obstacles.

I’ll leave you with a thought from Colin. He talked about relationships running their course, and though it pains me to know that some people aren’t a part of my life anymore, or won’t be in my life in years to come, I understand this notion. Some relationships are only meant to last for a certain period of time in your life, and that isn’t a bad thing.

Enjoy the company you keep while you have it, and work hard to keep in touch with the people who matter most. For most of my life, I’ve been surrounded by a group of best friends whom I consider to be brothers, and I’m grateful we still make the effort to keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

